How big is big data?

I’d like to kick the discussion off. How big is big data?

I mean GB? TB? PB?

Is it structured, unstructured or both or something else?

How do people process big data? Is HDFS a common storage pool or is it overkill in most places?

I studied some theory, read some journal papers and wrote a few essays about big data at University, and I think you can describe Big Data in terms of the Three V’s - Volume, Velocity and Variety.

I believe the common conception is that big data is probably moving towards the petabytes scale. I like to think of big data as being on a scale that is currently impossible to host on a single computer/server.

The additional thing to consider is that big data isn’t just a matter of volume. You also need to consider the velocity at which data is being generated. You can have all the hard drive space in the world, but if you’re receiving data faster than your algorithms can analyse it, then you’ll ultimately run into disk space issues further down the line.

In terms of the structure of the data, it can be either or both! Variety refers to the fact that big data streams do not tend to produce data of a homogeneous format. Different data types will require different approaches for analysis. Data quality is also a source of variety that should be considered too.

Good points @ryan . I’m generally of the opinion that Big Data is a pretty rubbish name as its generally unstructured data rather than Petabyte scale. If you can chuck your files into an HDFS cluster and crunch the data that way, it makes sense, but it doesn’t have to be TB’s in size.

Similarly Uber and co use MySQL at huge scale, twitter also used to, I don’t know if they still do or not, but I’m guessing thats more than 100 rows in a table…